FIFA announces cities to host 2026 World Cup | World Cup

FIFA announced this Thursday the 16 cities for the 2026 World Cup. There will be two in Canada, three in Mexico and 11 in the United States. It will be the first World Cup in history involving 48 teams. Look at cities:

Canada: Vancouver, Toronto

Mexico: Guadalajara, Monterrey, Mexico City

United States of America: Seattle, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Kansas City, Dallas, Atlanta, Houston, Boston, Philadelphia, Miami, New York

  • See the 2022 World Cup table
  • Argentina, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay have relaunched their offer for 2030

Announcement of the cities to host the 2026 World Cup in Canada, the United States and Mexico – Photo: Reproduction / FIFA +

Cincinnati, Denver, Nashville, Orlando, Pasadena, Washington, Baltimore, USA, and Edmonton, Canada were also competing, but were left out.

    Vancouver (CAN), Seattle (USA), Los Angeles (USA), San Francisco (USA) and Guadalajara (MEX)
    Kansas City (USA), Dallas (USA), Atlanta (USA), Houston (USA), Monterrey (MEX) and Mexico City (MEX)
    Toronto (CAN), Boston (USA), Philadelphia (USA), Miami, New York (USA)

Present at the broadcast, FIFA President Gianni Infantino commented on the main opportunity and challenge of the World Cup: the distance between the hosts.

“We will try to organize the cup so that the teams and the fans do not have to go far.

This will be the second time the United States has hosted the World Cup, which was the scene of the Tetra in 1994. Five cities will host the World Cup in 2026: Los Angeles, San Francisco, Dallas, Boston and New York. He hosted the 1970 World Cup in Mexico in what became known as the Brazil Tri, and in 1986, marked the great performances of Diego Maradona. Canada will debut as host of a World Cup.

“In 2026, football will be the first sport in this place in the world,” Infantino joked.

16 cities to host the 2026 World Cup in Canada, the United States and Mexico – Photo: Infoesporte /

2026 will be the biggest World Cup of all time, in many ways. It will be the first of three sites; until then, in 2002, except for Japan and South Korea, all were conducted in a single country. He will also be the first to play 80 games, instead of the usual 64.

And, of course, he will be the first with 48 teams. The rise in the number of World Cup participants was a campaign promise made by Gianni Infantino, who was elected FIFA President in 2016 and re-elected in 2019.

The rise will also lead to a reorganization of the World Cup conflict model. By Qatar-2022, 32 teams were divided into eight teams with four teams. The first two in each set advanced to the quarterfinals, followed by the quarterfinals, semifinals and finals.

2026 World Cup seats

  • UEFA (Europe): 16
  • CAF (Africa): 9 plus one in the replay
  • AFC (Asia): 8 plus one in the playoffs
  • CONMEBOL (South America): 6 plus one in the replay
  • Concacaf (Central and North America): 6 plus one in the rehearsal
  • OFC (Oceania): 1

World Cup trophy unveiled at 2026 World Cup host announcement in New York – Photo: Camilo Pinheiro Machado

Now, 48 teams will be divided into 16 teams of three. The top two teams in each group advance to the playoffs and will have a stage before the quarter-finals. Those who reach the semi-finals will continue to play for a maximum of seven matches, but only 16 of the 16 teams eliminated in the first round will play – against three in the current format.

With more places in the World Cup, it is also inevitable to renew the playoffs. FIFA delegates to each continental confederation the organization of qualifying tournaments.

Conmebol, for example, has made it clear that it will withdraw its current format, with its ten teams taking turns facing each other in turn, in a straight point system. South America, which had four straight and one straight, will now have six straight and one straight. Conmebol is working on formulating a new model that is interesting from a technical and commercial point of view.

Leave a Comment